Probably one of a parent’s greatest fears is having a child hurt or killed in an accident. While not every accident can be avoided, there are steps parents can take to help protect their children from suffering a serious injury due to an auto accident. In order to help parents do more to protect their families, Pennsylvania has revised its laws regarding car seat use.
The American Academy of Pediatrics carefully reviews the needs of children when it comes to the best ways to protect them in the event of a car crash. While many parents have been educated about the need to place infants in a seat that faces backwards, they may not be aware that the recommendations have been revised to include children under age two. It also recommended that all children under the age of eight be secured into an appropriately sized booster seat unless he or she weighed at least 80 pounds.
Now, the Academy has determined that children up to the age of at least 10 should be required to ride in these seats unless they are at least 4 feet 9 inches. Pennsylvania has now revised its laws to better reflect these guidelines. All children under two must be in a rear-facing seat and children under the weight or height recommendations up to the age of eight must also be belted into a properly sized booster seat. Parents who do not abide by these laws — which go into effect on Aug. 12 — can be fined up to $75.
In spite of a parent’s best efforts, however, not every accident can be prevented. In the unfortunate event that a child suffers injuries in an auto accident caused by another party’s negligence, the parents may seek recompense for monetary damages on the child’s behalf through the filing of a civil suit. An experienced personal injury attorney can provide more information regarding the best options available in these difficult situations.
Source: abc27.com, “New car seat recommendations align with Pennsylvania laws“, Sari Soffer, July 28, 2017